2015 in 5 words!

Hello World & welcome to 2016. It has indeed been ages since I last penned down a piece here on FlintzPerspective albeit be rest assured, this is the beginning of greater things to come. 2015 has come and gone, it was to say the least an eventful year for me (& probably for you too). With this write-up, I try to compress mine into just 5 words. It’s a long one lacking thorough editing however I’ll beg you to do yourself a favour- relax, be at ease and enjoy every bit of it.

Word #1: GRADUATION- Free at last……

If there was ‘something’ that shouldn’t have been in 2015, graduation is the word- the ‘something’. Albeit, due to the sorry state of our pathetic educational system (permit the tautology) which I have in fact come to lose interest in, it had to wait till 2015. It was something my colleagues and I for one eagerly anticipated; after all it was supposed to be 2013/14 academic session. School was whack! The lectures were boring; the assignments tasking, tests and exams were something else- the results were frustrating and disheartening. Factor in the stress of seminar presentation and the rigours of almighty project (SMH) and our case could be correctly said to be critical (lol). Therefore, we could not wait and at last D-day came. February 7, 2015, Clad in our newly purchased white tops we stormed the examination hall to pen down our final paper- the previously postponed BCH406. GBAM! That’s all!! In ecstasy, we stormed out- in joy, we transformed our pristine whites into ‘coats of many colours’, sprawled within minutes with all manner of names, nicknames and what-have-you.

image

No more annoying assignments, impromptu tests and the likes. So exhilarating! I believe I was the happiest metabolite that fateful day because I knew that was the end for me in Biochemistry- never will I chase a goal that isn’t my dream. Few weeks later, I was free indeed as we (I) defended our (my) project successfully and out came the final results. A miracle it was as I graduated with the second highest possible class of Bachelor’s degree on offer by Nigerian universities despite my nonchalance and lack of interest (particularly in final year). No doubt, God indeed was and still is in the details.

Word #2: JOURNEYS- Flint in Motion…..

image

If traveling wasn’t one of my hobbies, then 2015 would have been kind of ‘helly’ for me ‘cos there were journeys aplenty- journeys not necessarily fun-filled but enjoyable (except for my long legs) and memorable. Akure in the first weekend of January and Gudu in the penultimate weekend of December showed how ‘choky’ the year was for me. However, whether it was for the purpose of visitation or ministration, a conference or an outreach, a wedding or a funeral; each journey was well worth it. Akure was for a brief but special visitation to the Ola-Olagunjus, Gudu was for an unforgettable NCCF Rural Rugged*. In between were Ado during the gubernatorial elections (at ease with Mandy & Toyin Omoniyi), Lokoja (swell time with the Kennedys), Jos (home- details to follow), Gidan Waya (to help my uncle out), Lagos (Daddy Banji laid to rest), Ilesha (TACSFON Nat. Confr.), Akungba (back to sch, clearance & personal retreat), Sokoto (Flint obeys the clarion call) and a little town somewhere in Northwestern Nigeria called Binji (on an errand).

Jos in particular had mini-journeys of its own which were possibly the most important of them all- a weekly Saturday walk from my crib to Tee_El_Tee, a melting pot for great minds and open-minded, ready-to-learn intellectuals; the venue for series of mind blowing sessions of seminars, talks, video views, lectures and trainings whose lessons will stay with me for the rest of my life– THE INNOCENT MINDS FREE WEEKLY LIFE COACHING & LEADERSHIP TRAINING. It was but for a brief stint but just like it’s being said: “little things matter”. My journeys to Tee_El_Tee are a sure testimony.

Word #3: SERVICE- a Novel Adventure…….

image

Youths Obey the Clarion Call” we sang “under the sun and in the rain”. Well, ours should have been under the cold and in the dust that is the harmattan- frozenly cold (at least for the Southerners) and crazily dusty. This is the ‘Seat of the Caliphate’, this is Sokoto, and this is where I serve my fatherland. It will continue into 2016, but it started in 2015 and for that alone, 2015 would always be special for if there is a great once-in-a-lifetime event for all Nigerian Intellectuals- it is the mandatory Youth Service. As one who wanted to explore, the East topped the list on my mind (I needed to have a reasonable knowledge of the Igbo language- to score the ‘WaZoBia’ hattrick and be a ‘full-fledged’ Nigerian) but oops! I got ‘Sakwatto’ instead and oh yes; it’s not the end of the world. I’ll sure enjoy it while it lasts- in fact I’m already doing that. I’ll definitely make it worthwhile- the harvest is indeed plenty!
Camp was eventful, a complicated mix of stress and fun particularly for someone who combined being a NCCF worker with the office of a platoon PRO. Camp is long gone and right now, I’ve began working and my PPA’s making sense (my boss is a great man, my co-workers are accommodating & my students works in progress). Also, serving God on the platform of Nigeria Christian Corpers Fellowship (NCCF) and living in her Family House has so far been a blessing in disguise having offered (and continually offers) me the priviledge of elevating my tolerance level as well as sharpening my ability to live sacrificially, understanding the unity of faith, and more importantly coming into contact with sound minds and quickening spirits among others. An exciting and memorable Christmas was also on the card.

Word #4: FRIENDS- my Invaluable Gems!

image

I love and value my friends, probably more than family (maybe ‘cos I chose them & family I did not or possibly ‘cos I consider family as friends, I do not know). Reason along with me: one can obviously do without traveling (journeys) you’d agree; also, one can survive without necessarily being a graduate (graduation) or serving his/her fatherland (Service) but I strongly believe a worthwhile life is indeed impossible without friends both faithful and unfaithful. 2015 is an integral part of my life hence my friends had major roles to play (some cameo appearances actually). Many lifted me when I was down, a place some others technically put me in the first place. There were disappointments, let-downs, even heartbreak! Times I felt worthless, short-changed and hyper-confused. But more than these, there were approvals, encouragements, charges, support, sense of security, tete-a-tetes- acts of love!

From my nearly lifelong friend, Temi who painfully lost his dad in the year to the dear one who left (sighs); my main man- Enoch to my indispensible campus companions- Sam, Enny, Laide & Kenny; my rooimmates turn brothers- Dammy & Peace to my support in the hard times- Ajike & Debby; my dear friend- Dayo to my partners in final year most notably Fifo & Arinju; I’ll forever be grateful.
Permit me to drop a more comprehensive list:

♥My First Friends (my precious parents- the first man & woman I ever called Daddy & Mummy- and my loving siblings- Becky, Debby & Austin)
♥Hands that made ‘Flintz BookHouse’ a reality (Enoch, Busayo, Amuda Becky, Deacon Segun, Dayo et al)
♥The Innocent Minds Crew and attendees (Innocent & Talatu Usar, Charles, Walter, Jerry, Evelyn, Maureen et al)
♥My senior friends and teachers in faith (Oke Abayomi, Olagunju Wunmi, Omoniyi Toyin, Adeyemo Joshua, Akibon Tunrayo, Folayan Niyi, Akinyemi Kay, Akinpelu Segun, Haven Image, Yemight et al)
♥Those who made my return to Akungba memorable and comfortable (A.Y, Mikey, Adetoun, Lekan, Dupe,Idara, Rachel, Toyin, Charles, Nife, Funmilade, Seun, Opeyemi, DanDollars, Timi et al)

image

♥My NYSC Orientation Camp roomies who were fun all the way (Joe, Philip, Leo, Mahwel, Vince, Elvis et al)
♥My PPA boss, colleagues (Uncle Tee, Aunt Cynthia, Uncle Dan, Amos, Thomas, Gabriel & Chinedu) and students.
♥My newly found ‘hommies & honnies’ (Udeme, Rotimi, Victor, Harriet, Yemi & Folake) and The Family House Brethren (Deji my G, Esther, Sam 1st Born, my colleague Dorcas, the Sarahs, Helen, Olowo, Pius, Taiwo, Je-Don & Kemi, Frances, Oliver, Zongo, Jonathan, Otutu, Tabitha, David, Christianah, TY, Gbenga et al)
♥The leadership of NCCF Sokoto, the Bible Study & Drama units not forgetting my own dear ever-active Publicity guys!
♥My own always-alert God’s Generals, TACSFON AAUA members and the Alumni Body, TAC Tudun Wada, Likeminds Campus Vision, Jesus All-in-all Prayer Ministry, Sokoto ’15 Batch ‘B’ Platoon 8 corps members and Laffingas Admins are remembered as well.

These all made my 2015 rock by reaching out with helping hands, wiping my tears, providing shoulders I could lean on and most importantly gave me hope for a better tomorrow. Can I ever thank them enough?

Word #5: GRACE- the Ultimate Factor!!!

Graduation. Journeys. Service. Friends………… Grace!

image

Five words to define the year- my year! Not just words but appropriate and well fitting ones. However, if there is to be a single word that sums up not just the year but the entirety of my life, then the undisputed choice would be GRACE. For how would I have become a graduate without it or how on earth would all my journeys have gone itch-free? Service would have been an outright impossibility and all my friends a super-pack of wolves in sheep clothing.
But all thanks to God, Charis (grace) was available all the way, at the centre of it all, pulling and holding all pieces of the jigsaw together- it’s most profound effect was in the metaphysical for it kept me, made and keeps making me stronger. I have come to a point whereby I possess no iota of doubt that I can actually do nothing either great or small without it; that I am but nothing without it and that without it, the only tenable destination is nowhere!
I am prepared to continue with it. It would be utter folly to do otherwise. More than ever, I’ll need it in 2016. You probably should as well. Well, I’ll strongly advice you take my approach but what can I actually do? It’s totally left to you- The ball is in your court!

image

So, there goes my 2015 in just 5 words. If you were to summarize yours in 5 words, what would they be? Comment below and do have a fantabulous 2016. Gracias and lots of love!

Follow @Flint_da_boss on twitter
BBM Pin: 79a44d88

10 Replies to “2015 in 5 words!”

Leave a comment